A bit about me

Photo by Henry Marsh

My name is Anastasia Amy and I am a South African actor, dancer, poet and make-up artist.

Storytelling has always been at the centre of everything I do. I completed my degree in Dramatic Arts from the University of Pretoria in 2016, and since then I have worked as an au pair, social media, photography, and publishing intern. I studied make-up part-time whilst working two jobs and performing my own spoken word poetry for both Writer’s Bloc International and Spoken Sessions. I am currently signed with the incredible 4th Wall Management, under the exceptionally talented and kind, Andy Dellow.

As a creative, I spend many a night tossing and turning thinking about my next move, my next poem, my next creative project, and in all honesty, my thoughts are constant, and my mind can exhaust me. Being passionate about so much and always wanting to create change through these platforms can become a daunting task before any real work has even begun. And I suppose this rings true for any person involved in the arts – there’s never a full stop to what we do or want to do. There’s always something to work on and improve, but I find that the most magical part of it; there’s no end to what you will learn and no limit to what you can create.

I wrote a short poem that I think perfectly sums up this existential paradox:

It’s all a culmination; the hurt, the healing, the feeling of being less than you want to be, and the need to be more than you are – an adding up, of who you’ll eventually become.

So this is my becoming, my watering, my floraison – let’s see what will bloom.

Leave a comment