A Poem to Myself

I wish I could go back in time for a moment,

Visit myself as a little girl,

Tell her to brace herself,

Tell her it won’t be easy.

I wish I could tell her that she won’t always handle it well,

That sometimes it will be overwhelming,

Underwhelming,

Too much,

Not enough.

I wish I could have prepared her,

Because the fairytales never did.

Tell her she will fall

And she will hurt,

And it will bruise,

And she may even have scars.

I wish I could tell her

The world won’t always feel big,

And that sometimes she’ll feel like there isn’t any room for her –

In it or in others.

I wish I could tell her

That despite how much she loves,

She won’t always be loved,

But it’s ok because she’ll be love.

Tell her that her flaws don’t make her undeserving,

Tell her she’s worthy no matter what.

Tell her that she’s enough,

Not too much,

Or too little,

That she’s just right.

But more than anything,

I wish I could hug her and say

Be kind to yourself,

You’re going to need it.

Leave a comment