You decide on You

I used to listen to the drone of ignorance. I heard, very loudly, the sound of disbelief when I mouthed my dreams – the volume, barely a whisper, my voice, practically unheard. The response, deafening.

People will always discourage the things you believe in most, because giving in to logic and safety is what they know. It’s comfortable. It is easier to stop trying for the things you want and have a small part of you believe you could have made it, than to pursue them and fail. And we are fearful beings. Beings with insurance and alarm systems and funeral cover and ice-cream in the freezer on standby for the next heartbreak.

We talk through life, we do not sing.

But I am up to me. I’ll drown out the voices in my head with the ones screaming in my heart – because I’m already failing if I’m a megaphone for the masses.

We are what we decide to make of ourselves – we are what we decide to overcome, or not overcome, prove or disprove or improve, to see, or to overlook. We are what we believe is great within ourselves, or weak. Who we are, as people, as individuals, are the thoughts we have selected from the mouths of others, and the ones we’ve heard from within. So, what voices are you listening to? And what song will you sing?

Leave a comment